Wheelers impress at hill climb event

editorial image
Have your say

West Suffolk Wheelers and Tri juniors have been back in action competing at the Gas-Hill-Gasp hill climb event on Friday evening,

Of those, Fraser Elsworth put in an excellent performance to finish second overall in the Under-12 category.

Fast improving Sam Asker just missed out on a place in the final, finishing third in his heat, but followed up with victory in the support race.

The following day at the Hog Hill race circuit, Victoria Asker lined up for the Under-8s. Victoria held the wheel of the leading girl for the whole race before passing her on the final lap to record victory.

In the Under-12s event, an average speed of more than 20mph put Fraser Elsworth and Sam Asker in contention for the bunch sprint but ultimately finished fourth and third respectively.

Four West Suffolk Wheelers and Tri Club riders raced in the Norwich ABC on Saturday.

Mark Eastwood, on a Trike for the first time in an open, rode a time of 29 minutes and 56 seconds, with John Steed (28.35), John Coles (27.14) and David Young (26.23) all finishing ahead of him.

Tricia Goulden broke a second club TT record last week, finishing as first Lady in the Norwich ABC 25mile TT in 58.32.

Two other club members took part, Ron Back finished in 1.01 and John Coles in 1.02.

Goulden continued her record breaking season, setting a new 15 mile TT Club record when she finished second Lady in the CC Breckland 15 (35.40).

Elsehwere, the Sturman brothers, Dale and Lee, stormed to victory in the latest round of the WSW and Tri evening TT series with a time of 22.03.

Results: Dale Sturman and Lee Sturman (22.03); Harry Paine and Bryony Board (Glendene CC) (24.06); Boyd Nicholas and Darren Davis (24.16); Deane Hill and Tom Smith (24.20); Julian Long and Steve Newman (24.36); Lewis Elson and Thomas Mills (25.00); William Newland and Richard Balaam (25.08); Jeremy Waterson and Matt Soame (25.21); David Young and Ben Mickleburgh (WSW and Tri and Velo Velocity.co.uk) (25.24); Donna Williams and Neil Campbell (Team Terminator) (25.30); Peter Stephenson Wall and James Asker (25.41); Sharon Calton and Phil Clarke (25.46); Viv Smith and Jack Sears (25.55); Barry Denny and Matt Denny (26.50); Brian Aldiss (26.50); David Howes and Jim Greenwood (26.53); Steve Mayes and Malcolm MacFarlane (27.11); Neil Grimmer and Mark Elson (27.50); Fraser Elsworth and Simon Elsworth (27.53); Rhys Holland Jones and Robin Lines (28.09); Trevor Lloyd (28.27); Gerry Barton and John Steed (28.51); Mark Eastwood and Rob Norman (30.16).