Wellington puts the boot in as no females feature

Have your say

TRIATHLON queen Chrissie Wellington, of Feltwell, has hit out at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards nominations after the shortlist of 10 featured no females.

The nominations, announced on Monday included cyclist Mark Cavendish three golfers, Darren Clarke, Rory McIlroy and Luke Donald, cricketers, Alastair Cook and captain Andrew Strauss, Tennis star Andy Murray, Ahtletes Mo Farah and Dai Greene and finally boxer Amir Khan.

But it failed to feature prominent female stars such as Rebecca Addlington, Jess Ennis, Keri-Anne Payne and Wellington.

Although not sharing as a high a profile as other main stream female athletes, Wellington, who claimed her fourth Ironman World Championship title in Octonber, one of the toughest sporting challenges, could arguably claim to deserve to be mentioned among the nominations.

Speaking on Twitter earlier this week, Wellington aired her own opinions on the nominations that for the first time since the voting system changed in 2006 feature no women.

“No women in @bbcspoty top ten. It’s not about me, it’s about the need to celebrate achievements of so many female GBR athletes. Disgraceful,” she said.

“Its not about tokenism for women. Its about the top ten being reflective of the cream of the GBR crop. Male or female.

“Its not about seeing my name in lights. Sport is an amazing vehicle to send messages and promote positive change.

“That’s why this issue matters.”