Turner puts in the Myles for medal-winning display

editorial image
Have your say

Seventeen swimmers from West Suffolk Swimming Club travelled to Luton for their inaugural Long Course (50m pool) Open Meet at the recently built Inspire Sports Village.

The first long course race of the season started with a medal0winning performance from Myles Turner in the boys’ 11/12yrs 400m freestyle, finishing in third place.

Myles also won bronze medals in the 200m free, 50m breaststroke, 200m IM and 100m backstroke, finishing the weekend with a gold medal-winning swim in the last event, the 50m backstroke.

William Harpur-Davies (10) competed on the second day, picking up two silver medals in the 200m backstroke and 50m butterfly.

Also picking up a medal each were Tom Sarah (17) in the 17 & older 200m breaststroke and Alex Proffitt in the 13/14yrs 100m butterfly.

Charlie Eshelby just missed out on the medals with a fourth place finish in the boys’ 13/14yrs 50m backstroke event.

Emily Wood had three sixth-place finishes in the 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke and 400m IM event.

There were also a handful of long course personal best times achieved from those mentioned above, as well as Beth Wiseman, Molly Ollington, Chloe-Jeane Parsley, Thomas Buckle, Patrick Briars, Edward Briars, Chloe Vail, Claire Robinson, Casey Maggs, Billy Cutts and Thomas Edwards.

The next team outing will be the league gala, to be held in Sudbury this weekend, followed by the Regional Winter Championships, which will be held in Cambridge on the first weekend of December.

n Luke Collins was among the Thetford Dolphin swimmers to impress at the National Arena Swimming League recently.

Collins set a new club record in the 100-metre backstroke in a time of one minute and eight seconds, while the club as a whole clinched an impressive 12 new personal bests.

Meanwhile, the club also held their annual championships at Thetford’s Waterworld.

Swimmers of particular note in the sessions were Alexandra Ashley, who shattered two club records (200 and 400m open free) and Luke Collins (200m free), while new championship records were set by Anna Clark-Massey and Dan Collins (both 100m fly).