Still time to enter awards as deadline is extended

AWARD WINNER: Alicia Gallagher receives last year's Young Sports Personality of the Year from Bury Free Press sports ediotr Derek Bish
AWARD WINNER: Alicia Gallagher receives last year's Young Sports Personality of the Year from Bury Free Press sports ediotr Derek Bish
Have your say

ABBEYCROFT Leisure have once again urged people to send in nominations for their chosen sportsperson or club ahead of the St Edmundsbury Sports Awards, after the deadline was extended.

Applications for nominations can now be sent in up until Wednesday, August 31 for the awards, which has also changed venue and will now take place at the Apex on Sunday, September 18.

The event, run by Abbeycroft Leisure, sets out to recognise the outstanding sporting achievememts made by sportsmen, women, juniors and clubs throughout the year and to celebrate the huge amount of work that takes place within sport in the borough of St Edmundsbury.

The scheme is open to all sports enthusiasts and volunteers affiliated to a club, part of a school team or resides within the St Edmundsbury Borough.

There are 12 categories to enter and awards on the night are made for: Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by the Bury Free Press and the Haverhill Echo, The Unsung Hero award, Lifetime Achievement, Triumph Over Adversity, Coach of the Year, Contribution to Disability Sport, Young Community Volunteer of the Year, Club of the Year, Senior Team of the Year, Junior Team of the Year and finally, School of the Year.

A number of applications have already been sent in as people look to highlight the achievements of others they believe derserving to win an award.

Volunteers are recognised and Haydn Gross could be picking up the award for Young Community Volunteer of the Year after being nominated by Diana Meredith.

Haydn, of Bury St Edmunds, gives up her weekends and volunteers to help at the High 5 netball group for under-11s every Saturday as well as helping out every Sunday with the older players in their netball sessions and Diana feels she is definitely deserving of the award.

Mick Smith has nominated Vicky Forkes in the Sports Personality of the Year award category for her work with disabled people using sailing. Since taking office as membership secretary, Vicky, of Kedington, has encouraged over 50 disabled people to try sailing and has managed to get 20 volunteers to help out.

Haverhill Running club are among the nominees in the Club of the Year Award this year after their nomination from Trevor Bunch.

Trevor felt the club should be recognised with the award after their hard work to deliver a high quality of coaching over the past 12 years.

The club which now has 80 members of all ability have improved their level of coaching with close collaborations with England Athletics, Run England and the Greater Cambridge Athletics network. They are now driving through a project to set up permanently marked running route around Haverhill to encourage community participation.

Nominations can be made on the Abbeycroft website at, or by calling Michelle Banfield-Curran on 07983641196.