Hundreds take on Friday Five race

KEEP ON RUNNING: Action from the annual Glasswells Bury Friday Five, staged from Nowton Park
KEEP ON RUNNING: Action from the annual Glasswells Bury Friday Five, staged from Nowton Park
Have your say

THERE were an impressive 438 finishers at the annual Glasswells Bury Friday Five, staged from Nowton Park last Friday evening.

And hosts Saint Edmund Pacers celebrated an individual and team victory for a tricky five-mile route which comprised a lap of the park, before climbing up to High Green and then back down to Nowton.

Steve Robinson, who had won two of the three previous Friday Fives at Ipswich and Kirton, secured his third victory in the series on home turf.

Robinson won in 26mins 13secs, and he also led home the winning men’s team which also featured Andy Taylor (11th in 28.12) and Kevin Murphy (13th in 28.21).

Other Pacers men to the fore were Glenn Douglas (27th in 29.39), Chris Cooke (28th in 29.40, second over-50), Alan Dawson (39th in 30.23, second over-55 veteran), Simon Phillips (40th in 30.33), John Greener (55th in 31.56) and Robert Ingoldby (59th in 32.06).

Anna Clayton was the first Pacer lady, with another excellent run. She clocked 34.28, followed by club-mates Cath Jeffery (34.42) and Claire Hoblyn (35.30).

Molly O’Donnell was the leading female junior, thanks to her swift time of 37.09, and Pacers team-mate Emily Strickland was second junior (37.47). Emily Gooderham ensured a clean-sweep amongst the juniors by taking thrid with 39.00.

Other Pacers results in five-mile race: Ian Bradford 32.12, Chris Perry 32.48, Mark Watts 34.05, Stephen Hatton 34.34, Peter Bird 35.04, James Manning 36.13, Adam Clarke 36.14, Stephen Williams 36.29, Peter Jay 38.12, Philip Brown 38.14, Philip Southgate 38.19, Nigel Gossett 39.07, Chris Cook 39.17, Amanda Martin 40.03, Richard Grimsdell 40.05, Robbie Burt 40.49, Karen Hatton 41.30, Robin Smith 42.00, Laura Nichols 42.45, Donna Talbot 43.08, Eloise Calver 43.43, Rebecca Whittingdale 43.48, Kate MacDonald 45.22, Alison Cartwright 45.52, Samantha Starling 45.53, Denise O’Brian 46.31, Phillip Nutley 47.10, Emma Godfrey 50.28, Ian Turner 53.25, Kirsty Weavers 55.53 and Vicki Coombs 57.03.

The Pacers also had several prize winners in the two supporting junior races.

Emma Watts was first girl home, and first in her under-15 age group, in 9.04, while Matthew Nichols was second in the under-15 boys’ category in 7.56. Ieuan Aldis (8.06) was fourth in the same age group.

Kirsten Beckley was second under-13 girl in 10.39, followed by team-mates Louise Webb (fourth) and Olivia Crook (sixth).

Reece Gooderham led home a Pacers quartet amongst the under-13 boys. He clocked 10.02 for fifth, with Oliver Radley (10.35), Ethan Page (10.38) and Oliver Ransome (1.041) also in action.

There was a victory for Harry Lockyear in the under-11 boys’ event in 9.54, while Hannah Cooke (sixth) and India Baker (10th) took part in the under-11 girls’ section.

William Starling (second), Thomas Cartwright (third) , Joe Bradford (fourth) and Lucas Page (13th) finished the under-nine boys’ race.

Finally, Francesa Nichols and Rhian O’Brien were second and third respectively in the under-nine girls’ event.

Other Pacers to finish this race were Morgan McDonald, Amber Ollett, Rosie Starling, Anna Cartwright, Ruby Leighton, Savannah Baker, Lois Kerr and Nina Cushing.