Go-Ride event helps to cement Tour De France Legacy

LASTING LEGACY: Riders from Mildenhall Cycling Club's Go-Ride Tour event in celebration of the Tour De France
LASTING LEGACY: Riders from Mildenhall Cycling Club's Go-Ride Tour event in celebration of the Tour De France
Have your say

Mildenhall Cycling Club helped cement the legacy of the Tour De France visiting England by hosting a Go-Ride Tour event of their own last week.

In a fitting finale to the club’s summer Go-Ride programme and in celebration of the Tour visiting the shores, ‘tour events’ were created across the UK to help give young people the opportunity to get involved in cycling.

At the club’s event, every child aged between eight and 15 taking part in initiative, co-ordinated by British Cycling, chose the colours of the Tour de France jerseys before competing in the main effort, which features pavement, grass and obstacles where the riders have to dismount and carry their bike over the obstruction.

“It’s such an exciting summer for cycling, with the 
greatest road race in history having been to the UK,” said Mildenhall Cycling Club’s Mandy Burchett. “We saw from the Olympics that events like this inspire so many 
young people to get on their bikes and we want to provide an opportunity for them to experience the thrill of cycle sport.”

n West Suffolk Wheelers and Triathlon Club members Ron Back and Mark Eastwood made the trip to Redenhall near Bungay for the Anglia Velo 10-mile time trial.

It proved another sterling performance from Back, on the back of his previous week’s Veteran Time Trial Association’s national age record gained at the CC Breckland 15m TT, with a promising second in age group placing.

Eastwood also rode strongly to clock a time of 25 minutes and 57 seconds.

Wheelers also held a club time trial event on the undulating and windy 10 mile Horringer course.

Quickest time on the night was Andrew Brinkley (23.01) followed by Richard Farrow (25.09) and Darren Davis (25.17).

Other results are as follows: Boyd Nicholas (25.35); Pip Moore (25.46); Peter Golding (26.49); Viv Smith (27.08); Paul Watson (27.12); Stu Grand (27.13); David Howes (27.25); Eric Saffery (27.32); Steve Newman (28.05); David Young (28.19); Michael Lawson (28.45); Jim Greenwood (28.54); Phil Clarke (28.54); Martin Gale (29.04); Ross McKenzie (U18, 29.11); Brian Alldis (29.13); Darren Baker (29.44); Steven Rue (29.53);Neil Grimmer (30.19); Neil Brinkley (30.28); Stephen Williams (30.56); Chris Hinitt (31.32); Rhys Holland-Jones (U18, 31.50); Peter Brinkley (32.15).

Elsewhere, Team Cambridge CC hosted its Open 10 mile Time Trial, with Back again continuing his strong form as the first Wheeler back in 24.04.

He was followed by David Howes (24.48), Jim Greenwood (25.42) and Darren Baker (27.09), who recorded personal-best times.