Further success for team VeloVelocity

VICTORIOUS: West Suffolk Wheeler Lewis Elson en-route to victory in West Stow. Picture: Contributed
VICTORIOUS: West Suffolk Wheeler Lewis Elson en-route to victory in West Stow. Picture: Contributed
Have your say

BURY-BASED Team VeloVelocity’s mid-season success continued with further wins.

Geoff Frost won the Diss and District Cycling Club’s 25-mile time trial on July 22. The course was on the undulating B25/17 which runs from Bressingham to Thetford.

Being an ex-road racer, the course suited Frost and he took full advantage to record a time of 58 minutes 10 seconds.

Paul Jay was disappointed with sixth in 59.02, and David Staff punctured in the first couple of miles, ruling the team out of contention for the team prize.

Last weekend Ben Mickleburgh, Jason Bouttell and Paul Jay competed in the Victoria Cycle Club 3up event on the E1-10 at Saffron Walden against the picturesque back drop of Audley End House.

Having learned from the previous event, the three riders worked much better together and significantly improved their time, recording 21.46 to win the event.

Jay and Bouttell went on to compete in the solo competition, with Bouttell improving on last month’s position to go one step higher on the podium with second place in a time of 21.47. Jay also improved on last month’s time with 23.43.

Riders from West Suffolk Wheelers also competed in the 3up and solo events.

The 3up team, comprising David Young, Mark Eastwood and Richard Balaam, finished third in a time of 27.13 with Ron Back competing in the solo event in a time of 26.55.

On Sunday there was an early start at Wickham Market for the Stowmarket and District Cycle Club 10 mile time trial staged on the B10/36.

With a deceptive head wind on the uphill out bound leg it was a tough day.

Team VeloVelocity fielded a three-man team consisting of Paul Jay, Scott Davidson and David Staff.

All three riders finished and clinched the team prize by one second off the strong Strada Sport team.

The event was won by Strada Sport rider, Liam Gentry, in a time of 22.06.

Jay narrowly missed a podium spot in fourth place with 22.57, Staff fifth in 22.07 and Davidson seventh with 23.21.

The Junior event was won by West Suffolk Wheeler, Alan Trolove, in 23.27 and Ron Back, also from West Suffolk Wheelers, recorded a time of 26.43 to win his age category.

n WEST Suffolk Wheelers fielded 39 riders in the West Stow 10-mile time trial, which incorporated a handicap result.

In third place was Alan Trolove with a time of 23.38, second was Ben Mickleburgh from VeloVelocity in 23.18 and winning the event was Dale Sturman with 23.12.

In the handicap results, Matt Soame was third with 19.05, Henry Wood second in 18.54 and winning the event was Lewis Elson with 

Results. 1 Dale Sturman 23.12 (Actual H/CA 19.32); 2 Ben Mickleburgh 23.18 20.18; 3 Alan Trolove 23.38 19.28; 4 Harry Paine/Hannah Barnes 24.11; 5 Richard Farrow 24.27 19.47; 6 Julian Long 24.53 20.43; 7 Lee Sturman 25.19 21.34; 8 Matt Soame 26.25 19.05; 9 Kevin Rout 26.29; 10 William Newland 26.41 20.41; 11 Thomas Smith 26.41 20.56; 12 Nigel Wallace 27.07 19.37; 13 Martin Gale 27.08 19.54; 14 Richard Ballaam 27.10 19.55; 15 Henry Wood 27.24 18.54; 16 Dave Howes 27.29 21.59; 17 Matt Eaglen 27.37 21.02; 18 Brian Alldis 27.38 19.48; 19 David Young 27.38 20.03; 20 Michael Lawson 27.41 19.51; 21 Mark Eastwood 27.41 20.31; 22 Sharon Calton 28.02 20.02; 24 Peter Stephenson-Wall 28.28 19.28; 25 Lewis Elson 28.48 18.48; 26 James Asker 28.57 19.57; 27 Shaw Fox 29.06 22.16; 28 Mark Elson 29.14 19.44; 29 Viv Smith 30.13 23.18; 30 T. Rush 30.19; 31 Jim Greenwood 30.32 20.12; 32 Gerry Barton 30.43 22.13; 33 Rob Norman 31.30 20.20; 34 Fraser Elsworth 32.01 22.21; 35 Steve Harvey 32.22; 36 Jackie Smith 33.47 20.47; 37 Celia Newman 34.56 21.56; 38 Nicola Mawby 35.49.