Club remember former president in renamed meet

DIVING IN: West Suffolk's Hannah Harrison
DIVING IN: West Suffolk's Hannah Harrison
Have your say

West Suffolk Swimming Club hosted the Neate Meet in memory of former president Don Neate who passed away in January.

In the freestyle event, Annabel Heywood secured her second Regional qualifying time (RQT) to secure the win in the 13-years category. Also taking first place was Amilia Graham who won the 15-years age group.

Second placed finishes went to Beth Edwards, along with Esther Little, Chloe Riches, Casper Munro-Smith and Ciaran Riches, while bronze medals went to Hannah McNaul, Sebastian Munro-Smith and Sam Wortley.

In the gruelling 400m Individual Medley victories went to William Tozer, Ben Wilkinson, Jordanne Sillitoe and Beth Mottram. Connor Gillingham, Niamh Perry and Scarlett Guy all claimed silver, with Ella Hale taking bronze.

There was further success from the club’s boys across all strokes from 50m to 200m events with a gold medal haul coming from swimmers including William Harpur-Davies, Sebastian Munro-Smith, Charlie Whyte, Taylor Bowen, and Charlie Eshelby.

Not to be outdone, the girls put in some fantastic performances with wins from Suzanna Arbide, Niamh Perry, Esther Little, Millie Small, Ellie Middleton, Beth Sampher, Olivia Nicolai, Clara Ryen, Emily Wood, Molly Ollington, Beth Mottram and Beth Wiseman.

The girls, again, stepped up on day two, with further solid displays. Of those, Arbide, Ella Hale, Holly Sampher, Little, Ruth Burgess, Edwards, Heywood, Riches, Nicolai, Hannah Brecknell, Ollington, Mottram, Wiseman, and Wood all impressed to win their respective events.

In memory of Don Neate, a dolphin-shaped plaque was unveiled on the wall at the pool, with contributions from the club, Suffolk County ASA and Abbeycroft Leisure. It was unveiled by three of Don’s closest friends both in and outside of the swimming pool, David Robinson, David Whelan and Chris Galer, who were also presented with an engraved beer tankard from the club.