Champion extends his lead with three wins

AIRBORNE: A rider takes to the air
AIRBORNE: A rider takes to the air
Have your say

ROUND two of Eastern Centre Championships took place on Sunday at the Wattisfield Hall Circuit.

The popular grassland circuit — run by Diss and District Motorcycle Club — was in prime condition for racing, and current champion Carl Nunn extended his lead in the six-round series.

After winning all three races at round one at Mildenhall in March, Nunn charged into the lead in race one at Wattisfield, with Luke Benstead in close company.

These two soon got away from the chasing pack, and at the halfway stage of the 20-minute race, Benstead made his move, taking over at the front for a fine win.

Nunn settled for second place, with Brad Tomlin in third, with former champion, Aston Bird battling through the pack to claim fourth.

Race two saw Nunn leading from the start and, despite Benstead challenging, he built up a comfortable lead to take the 25 points for the win. Bird held on for third place with Chris Bastick fourth.

Nunn then took his second win in leg three, the former British champion showing his true class to win easily from Benstead.

In the junior championships, Ryan Seabright looked very impressive on his Suzuki, winning the first two 15-minute races with ease, but his day was spoilt in the third leg, when after leading comfortably, he retired after what appeared to be an injury to his leg.

With Seabright well clear in race one, a hectic battle ensured for second, with positions changing on every lap.

Eventually, Cameron Harris took second after a big battle with his brother, Lucas and Aaron Hopkins.

Seabright was in exellent form in race two, lapping consistently to win easily again, leaving Rhies Morter, Hopkins and Glen Walsh to squabble over second place.

After Seabright was forced to retire in the third encounter, it was Morter who took the win ahead of the consistent Hopkins. Jordan Cutting moved from seventh to finish in third, ahead of a battle between Matthew Dow and burly Mark Hunt.

In the support races, John Bavin was in good form claiming all three race wins in his group.

Wayne Fulcher was second overall with a second, third and fourth place and there was some good rides for Jason Fowler, Steve Cadd and Darren Stone.

Lee White had two wins in the other support group, with Ian Collins also claiming a win.

Thomas Farthing and Andrew Smith were the most consistent over the three races though, with Farthing taking the overall win.

Round three of the series is on Bank Holiday Monday, June, 4, where the Chelmsford club will be the hosts at their East Hanningfield circuit.


Experts race one: Luke Benstead, Kawasaki (1), Carl Nunn, KTM (2), Brad Tomlin, Yamaha (3), Aston Bird, Kawasaki (4), Ben Talbot, Honda (5), Jason Morland, KTM (6).

Race two: Nunn (1), Benstead (2), Bird (3), Chris Bastick, Honda (4), Tomlin (5), David Frankland, Honda (6).

Race three: Nunn (1), Benstead (2), Bird (3), Morland (4), Brendon Mayers, Honda (5), Bastick (6).

Junior Champs race one: Ryan Seabright, Suzuki (1), Cameron Harris, KTM (2), Aaron Hopkins, Honda (3), Lucas Harris, KTM (4), Simon Daniels, Honda (5), David Lockwood, Honda (6).

Race two: Seabright (1), Rhies Morter, Honda (2), Hopkins (3), Glen Walsh, Honda (4), Will Hempstead, KTM (5), George Clements, Kawasaki (6).

Race three: Morter (1), Hopkins (2), Jordan Cutting, Suzuki (3), Matt Dow, KTM (4), Mark Hunt, Honda (5), Clements (6).

Support B group: John Bavin, Yamaha, (3 race wins)

Support C group: Lee White, Suzuki (2 race wins), Ian Collins, Honda (1 race win).