Buckle bags Stableford success after tight finish

editorial image
Have your say

FOUR Stowmarket men featured in an extremely tight finish in their Saturday Stableford, all returning 38 points at the top of Division One.

Former Suffolk county man, Paul Buckle, returned a level par gross 69 to claim the prize on countback.

Andrew Forgan, playing from seven, was best in the top Division on Sunday, handing in a good-looking 40.

q q q

A field of 48 players representing 22 clubs from as far afield as Bridgnorth in Shropshire and Southend in Essex, competed in Thetford men’s Open Day.

The Open Championship was won by 12 handicapper, John Pullen, from Thorpe Hall. After a superb net 66 in the morning, he nearly blew it second time out running up a 79. But his 145 net total was still good enough by five shots.

q q q

A run of 17 points over six holes of her front nine was the foundation of a winning 40 points by Carol Thompson, in the well supported Bury St Edmunds women’s Eleanor Bryant Grannies Cup. She had added up 23 points in difficult windy conditions by the time she had reached the ninth hole.

q q q

The junior club medal on Sunday, failed to attract more than four entries for the nine o’clock start.

Leading classified scores


Men’s Midweek Stableford Division One: J Daniel (4)38, W French (14)36, K McCredie (7)36, K Issitt (5)35. Division Two: D Lucas (24)37 ocb from N Stiff (19)37, S Winship (28)36, T Pitt (15)33.

Saturday Stableford: Division One: P Buckle (2)38 ocb from R Gilchrist (8)38 ocb from A Grogan (6)38 ocb from K Rooney (10)38. Division Two: I Harvey (19)39 ocb from S King (15)39, J Deasy (18)36, M Hudson (19)35 ocb.

Sunday Stableford: Division One: A Forgan (7)40, A Taylor (13)37, R Hall (14)37, C McFie (12)36. Division Two: D Jones (19)40, L Ambrose (25)39, N Holcombe (19)38, N Burch (21)37.

Junior Trophy Winners for 2011. Junior Champion: G Buck. Junior Boy (net) Champion: A O’Doherty. Diana Evans Cup (Net Girl): C Holcombe. Easter Cup: F Tindall. Cleary Putter: J Chalk Junior Pro Challenge Cup: J Hurren. Secretary’s Cup: S O’Doherty. Move The Flag: J Chalk. Bigmore Foursomes: M & A O’Doherty. Junior Match Play Stags: M O’Doherty. Most Improved Golfers: R Harvey & E Tindall. Order of Merit winners: J Forgan & E Tindall.


Women’s Eleanor Bryant Grannies Cup: C Thompson (28)40pts, R Stratton (28)38, P Cauldwell (14)37, L Langley (20)37.

September Medal: Division One: B Shand 89(19)70, J Byford 84(11)73, M Smith 89(16)73, B Simm 93(19)74. Division Two: H O’Connell 94(22)72, R Stratton 103(28)75, S Brinkley 97(21)76, P Brega 99(23)76. Division Three: J Warnett 108(30)78, M Dutton 111(32)79, J Hogarth 119(36)83, J Kent 122(36)86.

Hallders Trophy (mixed flag competition, 34 pairs entered): I & B Shand 4 shots on 1st, M & J Byford 2 shots on 1st, G & M Smith 1 shot on 1st.

Junior Club Medal Division One: M Kent 82(7)75, O Smith 80(5)75. Division Two: D Thurlow 98(23)75, S Bunn 108(27)81.


Men’s Open Competition: J Pullen (Thorpe Hall) (handicap 12) net 66 79 145, G Hughes (Thetford) (13) 74 76 150, A Keach (Eaton) (10) 78 74 152. Scratch: D Pattrick (Royal Cromer) 82 76 158, A Randall (Peterborough Milton) 81 79 160. Best am: M Somerville (Five Lakes) (7) 71, Best pm: P Swindells (Crews Hill) (5)72. Nearest pin am: A Randall. Pm: P Swindells. Longest drive am: D Stallard (Crondon Park). Pm: A Randall.


At Richmond Park, Watton. Captain’s Cup: A Simons 40pts, Division One: N Burton 36, P Bugg 34. Division Two: A Steadman 35. Women: B Bugg 30 ocb from M Shea 30. Nearest pin women: P Cook. Men: C Bugg. Longest drive men: D White,. Women: J Watson. Guest prize: D Peake 40pts. Golfer of the Year: A Steadman.


Women’s Atkinson Bowl: C Kidd 37pts, G Williamson 34, A Grover 30, L Ireson 27.

Stennett Cup: A Nunn 93(20)73, N McMahon 85(11)74, C Parker 95(19)76, L Knight 92(16)76.