Brinkley powers to victory in road race

ON FORM: Andrew Brinkley, who won the Regional B race at the Mid Suffolk Road Race
ON FORM: Andrew Brinkley, who won the Regional B race at the Mid Suffolk Road Race
Have your say

West Suffolk Wheelers and Triathlon Club member Andrew Brinkley was on top form to win the Mid Suffolk Road Race.

Hosted by the Stowmarket and District Cycling Club, Brinkley competed in the Regional B race for third and fourth category riders on a 54-mile long course over multiple circuits around Offton, Willisham, Barking, Ringshall and Great Bricett.

The last lap saw Brinkley and Robert Ormond of the host club pull away from the weather-reduced field of 16 before Brinkley attacked on his own near the finish, proving too strong for his rival, to seal a spectacular victory just as the threatened rain storm erupted.

n Elsewhere, six members of the club took part in the Veterans’ Time Trial Association’s 10-mile open time trial in Bungay.

Battling into a strong return leg head wind, gutsy performances from Ron Back, David Howes and Mark Eastwood were enough to win the team race for the club on age standard.

Determined rides from club mates David Young, John Coles, and John Steel rounded off the results.

n Meanwhile, club father and daughter duo Julian and Esther Colman competed in the British Triathlon Championships in Liverpool.

Both raced in the standard distance (1500m swim; 40km bike and 10km run) on a course which took in closed roads around the city centre, with the swim section in the docks.

Esther continued her fine recent performances with second place in the Under-20 female event while Julian gave a promising performance.

n The latest edition of the Club’s own Thursday evening time trial took place on the West Stow 10.1mile course.

Stand out performance was the duo of Tracey Griggs and Nicole Gregory who together set a new club tandem record.

Other finishers in order included: Brinkley, Matt Shingleton, Paul Vickers, Paul Rooke, Julian Long, Ben Mickleburgh, Darren Davis, Pip Moore, Peter Golding, Peter Stephenson-Wall, Nic Whitwell, David Howes, Viv Smith, Henry Wood, Stu Grand, Steve Newman, David Young, Matt Denny, Martin Gale, Brian Alldis, Wayne Colquhoun, Jim Greenwood, Michael Lawson, John Steed, Hannah McIlroy, Stephen Rue, Stephen Williams, Rhys Holland-Jones, Dick Lines, Chris Ridgeon and Robin Lines.