Mildenhall tear the league leaders apart

editorial image
Have your say



Mildenhall 100-1 beat Woolpit 99 by nine wickets

MILDENHALL fired out a huge warning shot to the rest of Marshall Hatchick Two Counties Championship Division One by dismantling league leaders Woolpit.

After winning the toss, Steve Lankester surprised the opposition by inviting them to bat first.

However, his decision soon paid off as James Holmes, opening the bowling from the river end, accounted for both openers with only nine runs on the board.

This brought Woolpit’s overseas professional, Mike Jones, to the crease.

He looked in good form as he stroked four boundaries before he was trapped lbw, once again to Holmes.

This sparked a collapse in Woolpit’s middle order as they fell to 43-7.

Holmes and opening bowler AJ Warraich (3-25) gave nothing as well as taking wickets.

It was then a case of damage limitation for the visitors as their lower order tried to grind out a decent score, but Mildenhall would not let them get away.

Frans Bester and Ben Shepperson took a wicket apiece before Holmes returned to trap Woolpit’s number 11 lbw with the score on 99.

James Holmes finished with 5-23 while wicketkeeper Karl Holmes pouched four catches.

In reply, Mildenhall opened with the Bester and Shepperson.

With Woolpit needing early wickets, attacking fields were set, which produced plenty of run-scoring opportunities.

The ball was struck to the boundary regularly as Mildenhall raced towards their target.

Shepperson eventually fell for 42, aiming to hit the ball into the Lark, but only succeeded in finding a fielder’s hands.

This was, however, to be the only wicket as Azeem Ghumman (11no) joined Bester (41no) to see Mildenhall to a nine-wicket, 20-point victory and close the gap at the top of Division One.


Abberton 185-9 beat Mildenhall II 133 by 52 runs

AFTER a long journey to Abberton, Mildenhall bowled first.

Saheed Akolade picked up a couple of early wickets to reduce the home side to 30-2, but Abberton’s middle order all made decent contributions as they looked to post a challenging score.

Martin Taylor returned to the side and picked up 2-40 before Akolade returned to blast through the lower order with figures of 6-36 from his 13 overs.

Abberton closed on 185-9 from their 45 overs.

Mildenhall’s reply started well as the top three all made decent contributions, but the introduction of the hosts’ spinner, Tabish Zaman, soon had Mildenhall in trouble.

They fell to 92-6 and never really recovered and were bowled out for 133, falling 52 runs short of their target. Zaman took 6-35.


Mildenhall III 272-3 beat Abberton II 271-2 by seven wickets

ABBERTON chose to bat first and on the small pitch with a lightning fast boundary they found run scoring easy.

Mildenhall only managed to pick up two wickets from the entire 45 overs as the visitors racked up 271-2. D Davies batted through for 92no.

In reply, Mildenhall lost both openers early as they fell to 43-2.

The run scoring continued and captain Lou Handy joined in-form batsman James Taylor as the pair racked up a massive 202-run partnership before a mix-up saw Handy run out for 90.

It was the left to Taylor (101no) to bring up his 100 before seeing Mildenhall to victory one ball later as they reached their target for the loss of just three wickets inside 50 overs.


Brightlingsea II 105 beat Mildenhall IV 59 by 46 runs

MILDENHALL travelled looking for a victory on a pitch that quite clearly favoured the bowlers.

Bowling first, Mildenhall started well and reduced the home side to 24-6 as opening bowlers Jo Turner (4-24) and Vince Colby (4-35) ripped through the top order.

Some aggressive batting saw Brightlingsea pass 100 before a wicket apiece for Allen brothers Matt and Jonny saw the home side bowled out for 105.

In reply, Mildenhall started well, reaching 20 before the loss of the first wicket.

It was all downhill from there though as they were bowled out for 59.

Ash Clark top scored with 19 and W Barton took 7-15 for the home side.