Mildenhall’s title challenge all but over after defeat in Essex

CRICKET: 'Mildenhall II v Long Melford'A wicket for Matt Alllen'Pictures Mark Westley ANL-150824-093210009
CRICKET: 'Mildenhall II v Long Melford'A wicket for Matt Alllen'Pictures Mark Westley ANL-150824-093210009
Have your say





Wivenhoe 190-7 beat

Mildenhall 129 by 61 runs

Mildenhall’s Division One title hopes for 2015 are all but over after suffering a 61 run defeat at Wivenhoe on Saturday.

Wivenhoe batted first with openers Matt Durrell and Dean Robinson untroubled as they stood at 50 without loss by the 12th over.

Soon after Mildenhall introduced Jon Allen and he dismissed Durrell (29) before removing Jordan Elliott for a duck in the same over.

Allen (3-30) was once again the bowler when Ryan Vickery (seven) edged sharply to Ed Finnis, with Joe Reed then claiming the wicket of Jakob Kelly (two) to leave the hosts at 97-4.

Wivenhoe captain Willie Morgan (48 not out) joined Robinson at the crease and found runs hard to come by, as Adam Trett came on for Mildenhall and bowled a very impressive spell of eight overs for just 19 runs.

However Wivenhoe managed to progress to 145 before opener Robinson (74) lost his patience and hit Ben Shepperson to point where Trett hung onto the catch.

Jack Bowman took a fine catch to see the back of Hugh Barnett (seven), while Steve Taylor clean bowled Louis Homewood for a duck as the hosts closed on 190-7.

Mildenhall opener Taylor (two) went early as things started to go wrong for the visitors, with Shepperson (22) and Reed (23) departing with 57 runs on the board.

Luke Turner (25) was the top scorer in the innings as Mildenhall were bowled all out for 129, leaving them 32 points adrift of leaders Sudbury with three games to go.

n Mildenhall II (154-8) also tasted defeat, as Matt Allen and Matt Heywood both took two wickets in their 46 run home defeat to Long Melford (210-5) in Division Two.

n In Division Four Mildenhall III (192) lost at Abberton and District (215-6) by 23 runs despite a half century from James Taylor (77), while Paul Thurston’s unbeaten knock of 59 could not prevent Mildenhall IV (113) from a 10-wicket defeat to Woolpit III (114-0) in Division Seven.