Home   Sport   Article

Everton youngster Matthew Pennington has been Ipswich Town's Player of the Season

By Sport Bury

With Ipswich Town enduring their worst league campaign for over 60 years and relegation looming, fans now face the incongruous task of selecting a ‘supporters’ player of the season’.

Gareth Southgate has made sure this international break hasn’t been as painful as in previous years, but with time away from club football, I wanted to look at who really has done themselves justice in a terrible season.

So, out of the 31 players to have put on a blue shirt this season, which one, if any, have done themselves proud?

THE IPSWICH VIEW Columnist Joey Sadler (8121296)
THE IPSWICH VIEW Columnist Joey Sadler (8121296)

Many fans are claiming skipper Luke Chambers should be given the honour. With the club on it’s knees he’s ‘been the glue trying to keep the club together’.

Nobody can doubt his passion and desire to get us back on track, but there have been too many mistakes, too many false promises and too many bad displays to call him my player of the season.

If I had to give a top three, I’d start in reverse order with Gwion Edwards. The Welshman started the season superbly and despite dropping off in recent months, now seems to have rediscovered his early form and with a goal against Norwich, it’s enough for a top three finish.

Second would be Trevoh Chalobah. The versatile Chelsea loanee has often shone in a side lacking quality and seems to have vastly improved. I have no doubt if ‘Trev’ keeps doing what he’s doing, he’ll go very far. But for me, the best player of the worst Ipswich season in my lifetime has to be Matthew Pennington.The Everton youngster has been quality and an absolute rock at times.

We’ve conceded goals and lost games, but his performances in the home fixtures we did win, were incredible. His reading of the game is exceptional and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him given Premier League minutes in the future. League One beckons – let’s hope there’s stronger competition for the award next year.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More