Erik’s third century not enough for Mildenhall in Hadleigh loss

CENTURION: Erik Laubscher in action for Mildenhall against Hadleigh on Saturday
CENTURION: Erik Laubscher in action for Mildenhall against Hadleigh on Saturday
Share this article
Have your say





Mildenhall 211

lost to Hadleigh 212-5

by five wickets

Mildenhall suffered a home defeat to second-placed Hadleigh at Wamil Way in the Two Counties Championship on Saturday.

The visitors won a crucial toss and opted to field first.

Adam Trett and Erik Laubscher saw Mildenhall off to a decent start before Trett’s dismissal sparked a run of four quick wickets to fall.

Laubscher and Jack Beaumont (38) formed a substantial partnership to push the hosts towards 200.

Laubscher played a superb innings in scoring his third hundred of the season before he was dismissed for 118 as Mildenhall were bowled out for 211.

In reply, James Holmes (3-56) picked up both openers as Mildenhall struggled for wickets and the visiting side reached their target in the 48th over for the loss of just five wickets.

n Mildenhall II had an unsuccessful trip to Dunmow in Division Two.

Hall were bowled out for 121 with Stephen Lankester (27) top scoring.

Lankester and Jon Allen were the only wicket takers as Dunmow won.

n Mildenhall III continued their challenge for promotion from Divison Five as they beat Maldon II by five wickets.

They restricted the visitors to 183-8 with Ali Kingdon (3-26) the pick of the bowlers.

The target was reached thanks to contributions from Kieren Davis (42), James Taylor (36), Mark Thurston (28) and Taha Ahmed (28).

n Mildenhall Ladies stayed third in the Ladies’ Challenge with a 10-run victory over Woodbridge.

Fliss Cleverley (70) continued her fine run of form and Lottie Kent (3-20) was the pick of the bowlers.

n Mildenhall Sunday II hosted Bardwell and posted 232-4 from their 40 overs.

Jordan Francis (66no), Jack Bowman (64), Kieren Davis (47) and Tom Allen (42) scored well and Mildenhall’s slow bowling attack kept things under control for a 22-run victory.