Home   Sport   Article

Director of rugby pays tribute to magnificent Meyers

SHAQ ATTACK: Shaq Meyers in action for Bury St Edmunds Rugby Club during their promotion-winning season.
SHAQ ATTACK: Shaq Meyers in action for Bury St Edmunds Rugby Club during their promotion-winning season.

Bury St Edmunds director of rugby Gavin Hogg has paid tribute to Shaq Meyers after he was named as Seniors’ Player of The Year.

Meyers scooped the accolade at a glittering end of season awards ceremony celebrating the culmination of the most successful season in the club’s history.

The versatile Meyers made a valuable contribution in helping Bury top National League Three — the club’s second promotion in three seasons.

“Shaq Meyers has been an ever present in the first-team squad this season, playing the majority of our games in our successful National League Three campaign,” said Hogg.

“He played several different positions for the first-team from appearances in the back row, moving to scrum-half to cover injury and also getting extended game time in the centre and the wing.

“His level of performance has never dwindled and he picked up several man-of-the-match awards this season.

“Shaq is a player who always gives 100 per cent and is a popular member of the senior squad.

“This award is well-deserved recognition for his first season with Bury and we are delighted that he has signed for next season to be part of our National League Two campaign.”

Other players recognised for their outstanding contribution throughout the season were: Connor Adams (Seniors’ Most Promising Player); Tim Mann (Seniors’ Most Improved Player); James Solomon (Seniors’ Best Newcomer); Sam Bragoli-Jones (Wolfhounds’ Player of The Year); Alan Davis (Wolves’ Player of The Year); James Dinsdale (Rovers’ Player of The Year); Louisa Honeybun (Foxes’ Player of The Year); Florence Webb (Foxes’ Most Improved Player); Jack Rea (Junior Academy Player of the Year) and Servais Coulber (Junior Academy Most Improved Player).

The award for Volunteer Coach of The Year was jointly presented to under-16 head coach Aaron Waters and under-13 counterpart David Mountford.

Clubman of The Year, for the volunteer who has made the most contribution to the club, went to under-11 head coach Justin Cain, while the Young Under-21 Volunteer of The Year was presented to Ollie Deeming.

Bury chairman Mike Robinson congratulated all the award winners and made a plea and said the club weclomed new players or all ages and abilities to join them.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More