Awards winners

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: First team player Joe Davis with his player-of-the-year shield
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: First team player Joe Davis with his player-of-the-year shield
Have your say

BURY St Edmunds Rugby Union Club recently held their annual awards presentation evening with a list of winners as follows.

Third-team player of the year: Alan Davis; Second-team player of the year: Chris Oxborrow.

Colts player of the year: Tim Gilbert; Colts most improved player: Ben Branfield.

Under-17s player of the year: Sean Davis; U17s most improved player: Ollie Blake.

Best newcomer: Warren Kearney.

First-team player of the year: Joe Davis; Most improved player: Josh Borley; Most promising player: Jake Thurlow.

Clubman of the year: Tim Silk.

Ladies player of the year: Kat Thomson.

n BURY Wolverines are toasting great success in the Amsterdam Sevens, a major event on the rugby Sevens calendar.

Bury have sent teams for the last three years and this year, as Bury Wolverines, reached the semi-final of the Boot competition.

The squad comprised of Bury first-team players and youngsters.

Sam Bixby, Ricky Jones and Chris Lord all excelled, supported well by Warren Kearney, Mat Page, Mat Edison, Brenton Krammer and Kenny Eggars.

Big contributions also came from James McLachlan, Jonny Dennis and newcomer Philip Gouldie.

Despite losing their first match on Saturday, they rallied well in their next two games.

This qualified them for the Heineken Boot competition on Sunday, where they beat a team from Southend and one from the Netherlands to reach the semi-finals against the German national team.

Unfortunately they could not match the Germans, who went on to take the title.