Home   News   Article

Students’ success recognised in presentation evening at Bury St Edmunds school

George Wright receives the literary prize from Bishop Alan Hopes ANL-150120-120104001
George Wright receives the literary prize from Bishop Alan Hopes ANL-150120-120104001

Nearly 300 pupils and parents attended an awards ceremony recognising GCSE and A-level success at a Bury St Edmunds secondary school.

The prestigious presentation evening at St Benedict’s Catholic School, in Beeton’s Way, saw students receive their exam certificates. There were also school, subject and tutor prizes.

Bishop Alan Hopes was the guest of honour and gave the opening prayer, a short speech and presented the certificates.

St Benedict’s A-level results received a Grade One in the recent A-level Performance report - placing the school in the top one per cent nationally for A-level results. In 2014 the school scored its best GCSE results in the last three years with 69 per cent of students achieving five A*-C grades including English and maths, which is 16 per cent better than the previous year.

The prize winners were:

Founder’s Prizes - Eleanor Walker, Fenella Snudden, Michael Rawson; Francis Pardon Cup - Jordan Brown and Jonathon Sharp; St Edmund Cup (Drama) - Charlie Leggett; James Rylatt Cup (Sport) - Christopher Lewis; Promenade Cup (Music) - Alana Hart; Special Art Prize - Martyna Wiecha; Specialist School Prizes - Michael Rawson; Literary Prize George Wright; Paul Rossi Prize - Nicola Batty; Science Prize ‘Eureka’ - Justina Baronaityte; Fr Gerald Quigley Prize - Nicholas Bigg

KS3 Years 7 and 9 Prizes:

RE - Alice Bell; English - Holly McLoughlin; Mathematics - Agusta Jedrzejowska; Science - Isla King; PE (Boys) - Alfie Lawrence; PE (Girls) - Samantha Stringer; History - Ada Hill; Geography - Thomas Bidewell; Art - Alice Bell and Daniel Hayde; Drama - Samantha Stringer; Music - Michael Sharpe; French - Elena Saiu - Bell; Spanish - Gina Bryson; Design Technology - Thomas Bidewell and Sebastiano Carboni; ICT - Maisie Sawyer ; Catenian Prize - Kloe Childs

Tutor’s Prize:

9NCL - Gabby Corser; 9BIL - Holly McLoughlin; 9CGM - Annie Aitken; 9DRU - Rachel O’Driscoll; 9DAW - Kamila Galysa; 9REN - Maisie Sawyer; 7GRE - Isabella Alvarez-Cubbitt; 7BUR Thomas Bidewell

KS 4 (Year 10):

RE - Tia Lowman; English - Conor Broderick; Mathematics - Emma Lane; Science - Abin Jose; PE (Boys) - Bobby Hopkinson; PE (Girls) - Sophie Tooley; History - Zach Skittrall; Geography - Adam Grover; Art - Elodie Wells ; Drama - James Malone; Music - Claudia Walker; French - Lochlan Carrol ; Spanish - Milly Davis ; Design Technology - Luca Neroni; ICT - Mia Browne; Catenian Prizes - Eleanor Cawdron

Tutor’s Prize:

10CAV - Emma Lewis; 10GML - James Malone; 10JMS - Conor Broderick; 10COB - Jonathon Sharp; 10SFD - Mia Browne; 10REI - Bradley Farthing Kiff


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More