Home   News   Article

Shortlist announced for Raising the Bar education awards

The Apex in the arc, Bury St Edmunds ANL-160519-161439005
The Apex in the arc, Bury St Edmunds ANL-160519-161439005

Suffolk’s star pupils, inspiring teachers and stand out schools and settings, have been named on the shortlist for the county council’s Raising the Bar Awards 2016.

Hundreds of award nominations were sent in by teachers, school staff, parents and the wider community across Suffolk, and were narrowed down to the shortlisted finalists by a panel of expert judges.

The Raising the Bar Awards include categories for children and young people, teachers and staff working in education, schools and settings and business partners. The shortlisted finalists across 20 categories and age groups have been invited to join the celebration at the Raising the Bar Awards at The Apex in Bury, on Monday, where the winners will be announced.

The ceremony will be presented by Terry Baxter, chief executive of Inspire Suffolk, alongside Amber Lennox, from County Upper School and Emma Collingridge from One, Ipswich.

The finalists from the Bury area include: Joshua Brooks, Barnham Primary for Rising Star of the Year - Primary; Aaaron Farmer, Thurston Community College for Rising Star - Secondary as well as Shannon Spurdens, YMCA Stowmarket and Amy Kirwin, Euro Cars Bury St Edmunds for Rising Star - Post 16.

Phoebe Swann, Lavenham Primary, and Jessica Davis, Westgate Primary, in Bury, are up for Inspirational Young Person of the Year - Primary.

Gemma Woodhouse, Thurston College, is in the running for Inspirational Young Person- Post 16; Stanley Warner, Great Finborough Primary, for Young Achiever of the Year - Primary; Little Explorers Day Nursery, in Pakenham, for Educational Setting of the Year.

Andrew Adamson and Sarah-Louise Neesam, both of West Suffolk College, are finalists in Excellence in Middle Leadership; Matthew Palmer, Creeting St Mary Primary, is up for Excellence in Teaching and Elveden Primary with Forest Academy, in Brandon, for Excellence in Collaboration. Lucie Rush, Thurston College, is up for Support Staff of the Year, and Julie Moore, Hartest Pre-school, for Unsung Hero of the Year.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More