Pilot involves eight villages near Bury St Edmunds

Share this article
Have your say

Eight villages near Bury St Edmunds will be included in a pilot scheme to assess their housing needs.

Yesterday, St Edmundsbury Borough Council’s rural area working party approved carrying out the pilot in Ixworth, Wickhambrook, Hopton, Great Thurlow, Little Thurlow, Chevington, Coney Weston and Hawstead.

“The pilot is about ensuring that the borough council has the right information to make informed choices about future residential developments and the affordability of housing options available,” says a report prepared for the working party.

Funding of £10,000 was given to the project when it was approved last year.