Parish election date announced

Share this article
Have your say

VOTERS will go to the ballot box later this month to elect a new councillor.

King’s Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council has announced that Feltwell residents will go to the polls on May 24 to vote in a new parish councillor.

Two candidates have been nominated for the post – Elaine Mills, of Vincent Close, and Terry Shapland, of Oak Street.

The vacancy was created after council chairman, Paul Garland, announced he would be stepping down last year.

The polling station will be at the Methodist Church Hall in Bell Street and will be open from 7am until 10pm.

Electors unable to vote on that day may be eligible for a postal or proxy vote.

Postal vote applications must be made to the borough council’s electoral services manager, Mary Colangelo, by no later than 5pm on Wednesday.

Applications to vote by proxy must be in by 5pm on the following Wednesday, May 16. A further deadline for emergency proxy vote applications is no later than 5pm on May 24.

Contact the Electoral Services Office on 01553 616773 for more information.

Votes will be counted on May 25 at 9.30am in the Committee Suite at the borough council offices in King’s Lynn.

The election will cost the council around £1,000, coming weeks after it spent around £2,000 on a parish poll.