New mayor of St Edmundsbury is announced

editorial image
Have your say

A CEREMONY held in Bury St Edmunds earlier today has seen the appointment of the new mayor of St Edmundsbury and of the cabinet members that will lead the borough council.

Cllr Christopher Spicer who represents the Pakenham ward has begun his term of office, after taking over the chains from Ian Houlder, while Mreoton hall ward member Terry Buckle has been appointed as deputy mayor at a service held in The Athenaeum.

The mayor’s chosen charities for the year are St John’s Ambulance and the Citizens’ Advice Bureaux.

Meanwhile Cllr John Griffiths MBE has been relected as leader of the council for the next four years. The Ixworth ward member also remains portfolio holder for rural affairs and external relationships.

Cllr Sara Mildmay-White, ward member for Rougham stays on as deputy leader while her portfolio is for Economy and Asset Management and Culture and Sport. Cllr Robert Everitt, ward member for Minden is portfolio holder for Bury and community safety while Haverhill North Cllr Anne Gower is portfolio holder for Haverhill and housing.

Transport and planning remains the responsibility of Cllr Terry Clements, ward member for Horringer and Whelnetham, Cllr Dave Ray, ward member for Barningham, is portfolio holder for resources, performance, and organisational development, and Cavendish Cllr Peter Stevens is portfolio holder for environment and street scene.