Mid Suffolk elects its leaders

Have your say

Councillors at Mid Suffolk District Council have voted for a new leader.

At a full council meeting on April 25, councillors voted for Cllr Derrick Haley as Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Executive Committee.

Cllr Marilyn Curran was elected as Deputy Leader of the Council and Vice-Chairman of the Executive Committee. Cllr Lesley Mayes was elected as Chairman of the Council and Cllr Derek Osborne as Vice-Chairman.

In addition, councillors elected chairmen for the individual committees and endorsed the appointment of councillors for portfolio holders.

Councillor Haley said: “I was delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the council - it is an honour.

“Financially it is going to be very challenging but we are in a good position to weather the storm.”