Mayor making ceremony held in Bury St Edmunds

Share this article
Have your say

There was pomp and ceremony in Bury St Edmunds yesterday (17) for the annual mayor making held at The Atheneaum.

Yesterday’s event also saw the formal reappointment of members of St Edmundsbury Borough Council’s cabinet, while the honour of freedom of the borough was given to two former long standing councillors.

The special meeting saw sword and mace bearers lead a procession of council members from The Apex to The Athenaeum.

Former councillor David Lockwood who represented Bury’s Northgate ward for 28-years from 1983 to 2011 was given freedom of the borough.

He also served as borough mayor from 2003 to 2004 and as a magistrate from 1987 to 2009.

The same honour was also given to former council leader Nigel Aitkens who was on the council from 1983 to 1995, and again from 2003 to 2011 representing the Chedburgh Ward. He served as council leader from 1991 to 1995.

Cllr Tim Marks who represents a Haverhill ward was appointed as mayor.

He replaces Pakenham ward member Cllr Christopher Spicer who becomes deputy, a role previously held by Moreton Hall ward member Cllr Terry Buckle.

The meeting also saw the reappointed of the council’s cabinet – the leading group of councillors who set the agenda for decision making – without any changes.

Although the borough council is to remain politically separate to Forest Heath District Council it is sharing staff and services, having recently appointed joint chief executive Ian Gallin.