Home   News   Article

Independent candidate Liam Byrne withdraws from Bury St Edmunds general election race

An Independent general election candidate contesting the Bury St Edmunds constituency has withdrawn from the race.

Organ donation campaigner Liam Byrne, 31, of Bury, has decided to stand down as he was unable to raise the deposit to be on the ballot paper.

He stood in the 2017 election and gained 852 votes.

Liam Byrne
Liam Byrne

Mr Byrne said: "Unfortunately, after a long hard conversation with different people around me, I have come to the decision to stand down as a candidate at this election for a few reasons.

"I was unable to raise the full £500 deposit to stand and be on the ballot paper.

"This was one of my issues as this puts people off for standing and that means Parliament can never truly represent every community.

Bury St Edmunds General Election results 2017
Bury St Edmunds General Election results 2017

"The money that has been donated will be given to charity."

He said that the poll was not being treated as a 'real general election' and was only about 'one thing - Brexit'.

Mr Byrne added: "The NHS is the main issue that is at risk at this election, so with that in mind I have decided to endorse Cliff Waterman, Labour, as this is the only way to fully save the NHS in this political confusing time.

"I would like to thank everyone who has given me their support and I really hope they understand the reason why I am doing this.

"I will be back if they want me to."

General Election
General Election

The Brexit Party's Dr Edmund Fordham is also out of the Bury race after his party's leader Nigel Farage decided not to contest the 317 seats won by the Conservatives in 2017.

Last week Liberal Democrat Helen Korfanty decided to step aside in the battle for the Bury St Edmunds constituency to allow Green candidate Dr Helen Geake to 'run uncontested by another Remainer'.

Independent Paul Hopfensperger has also declared he will run.

Conservative Jo Churchill has won the Bury seat twice.

An official list of candidates will be published on Thursday.

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More