Honorary titles

Have your say

THE dedication of two former councillors has been recognised by St Edmundsbury Borough Council.

David Lockwood is to be given honorary freedom of the borough and Nigel Aitkens made an honorary alderman following a decision by full council last week.

Mr Lockwood, also a former county councillor, served seven continuous terms on the borough council and was mayor from 2003-2004.

He has been a justice of the peace since 1987 and a governor of Tollgate Primary School since 1983.

Mr Aitkens served two terms on the council, most recently as deputy leader and previously as leader.

Both were presented with long service awards in September.