Councillors elect chairmen

Have your say

COUNCILLORS in Mid Suffolk and Babergh have elected chairmen following the elctions earlier this month.

Rickinghall and Walsham councillor Derrick Osborne was elected as chairman of Mid Suffolk District Council at a full council meeting held last Thursday, May 19.

Lesley Mayes, Stowmarket central ward, was voted in as the vice-chairman.

At a full Babergh District Council meeting, also held on May 19, councillors elected David Wood as chairman of the council, and Nick Ridley as vice-chairman.

Tim Passmore, Helmingham and Coddenham ward, holds his position as leader of Mid Suffolk District Council and Thurston and Hessett councillor Derrick Haley will continue as deputy leader.

In Babergh, Jennie Jenkins was elected as senior member of the council and will act as the principal spokesperson and chairman of the strategy committee.

Meanwhile, public consultation on whether the two district councils should merge to form one single council is under way in both districts with voting closing on June 6.