Bury St Edmunds Town Council welcomes nine new councillors

Community newsdesk: 01284 757857
Community newsdesk: 01284 757857
Have your say

Bury St Edmunds Town Council has a host of new faces on board.

Of its 17 members, nine are new councillors and eight have been re-elected.

Last night, the newly-formed council elected Andrew Speed as its chairman and Frank Warby as its vice-chairman.

The town’s electorate is being invited to meet their councillors at the Annual Town Meeting being held at 6pm on May 26 at the council’s offices on Angel Hill(the old borough offices).

Residents will be able to chat to councillors and hear from a variety of organisations, including some who have benefited from council community grants, and express their views on what they think the council should be doing.

Recent Bury Town Council grants have helped fund the Samaritans’ disability lift (£7,500) and contributed towards a Smiths Row public planting project (£1,500) to be installed in the Abbey Gardens as well as a series of public and schools workshops.

The council has also created a new annual award to be presented to the West Suffolk College ‘proactive student of the year’ and, most recently, has contributed £2,500 towards events taking place in Bury in support of the Women’s Cycle Tour.