A unique chance to see amateur movies shot in Bury St Edmunds since 1907 came to town today thanks to an international project.
The Archive Live Tour is outside Moyse’s Hall Museum until 6pm tonight showing films from the University of East Anglia’s East Anglian Film Library.
It is a joint project between the archive, Norwich Economic and Regeneration trust, the Rouen-based screen agency Pôle Image and the EU funded Interreg IVA Channel Programme.
It is touring 17 towns this month showing films local to each town. The Bury show starts with the 1907 Bury Pagent, then the Great Suffolk Show of 1928, Bury market in 1950, the town’s coronation celebrations in June 1953 in colour and a 1929 film about Greene King Brewery.
The 22-seat cinema bus they are being shown on was one of seven commissioned in 1967 by the then Minister of Technology Tony Benn to show information films at factories. It is on a Bedford SB coach chassis and lay in a field in Essex for 15 years before being restored by the current owner Oliver Halls, of Devon.
If you missed the visit, view the films at www.archivealive.org