Sahota overcomes conditions to win time trial

Have your say

Max Sahota did not let unfavourable conditions get in his way of posting a solid time during Newmarket Cycling and Triathlon Club’s latest time trial.

Despite being faced with a strong easterly wind, Sohata completed the 22-mile course in 57 minutes seven seconds.

Top honours in the one-lap event went the way of Owen Wilson in a time of 29.36.

Full result. Two-lap course. 1 Max Sahota 57.07; 2 Mark Gibbs 59.29; 3 Bob Watson 60.02; 4 Mark Schultz 60.39; 5 Alex Mant 73.37; 6 G P Farris 78.04.

One-lap course. 1 Owen Wilson 29.36; 2 Steve Peck 30.16; 3 Chris Robinson 30.25; 4 Gary Hounsome 30.41; 5 Michael Bartram 31.30; 6 Danny Stackhouse 31.43; 7 Lee Dickinson 31.57; 8 Eliot Bentley 32.21; 9 Alan Adams 33.20; 10 Dennis Frangleton, Malcolm Dane-Smith 35.03; 12 Mark Childs 35.28; 13 Richard Newell 36.25; 14 Ian Storey 37.03; 15 Malk Sahota 38.04.

Newmarket Cycling and Triathlon Club member Matt Smith went one better than his second at Ely when topping the leaderboard to win his first event in his first 25-mile time trial in the Shaftsbury CC Middle Markers event.

Open to riders who have not beaten 58 minutes for a 25-mile event, Smith recorded a time of 54.49 to end up winning by just 10 seconds.

n Tom Neale (Spalding CC) tasted victory in the main event for first, second and third category riders in the latest round of the Elveden Road Race series.

Stowmarket’s Gareth Turner was fourth and Kevin Curtis eighth in the fourth category, finishing 23 and 26 seconds behind category winner Icenio Velo’s Paul Groombridge.

Ipswich’s Tanya Griffiths won the women’s race.


1st, 2nd, 3rd Cats: 1 Tom Neale (Spalding); 2 Jamie Caldwell (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling); 3 Glyndwr Thomas (VC Norwich).

4th Cat: 1 Paul Groombridge (Iceni Velo); 2 Will Smith (CLA); 3 Owen Marsden (VC Norwich).

Women: 1 Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC); 2 Beth Coley (VC Norwich); 3 Susan Freeburn (WyndyMilla).