Newmarket win Mildenhall gala and take JKH Drainage trophy

Newmarket Swimming Club were the winners of Mildenhall and District Swimming Club’s latest gala meet.

They won the JKH Drainage Trophy with 138 points from First Strokes (St Neots) with 111 and were presented by Mildenhall head coach, Sally Russell.

Four teams took part, the other two being home side Mildenhall Sharks (99) and Dereham Otters (81).

The Sharks team was a mix of young and experienced swimmers and many achieved new personal best times (pbs) on the evening.

These included Leila Masalihit, Scarlett Saunders, Gemma Welbourn and Jack Middleton, who not only achieved a pb but also achieved county development times.

Mildenhall Sharks will be hosting the next gala on May 18, with the Bussens and Parkin Trophy.